Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Missin' the 80s
04-27-2005 E 4:18 p.m.
Never let it be forgotten or left unsaid that I'm an 80s chick. With the exceptions of big hair, the big eye glasses, the neon colors and a few of the...er...fashions of the day, I think that decade rocked. It was my time growing up and I loved it. I loved the music, the movies, the fashions, the cartoons and the hair (most of them, and I've since outgrown some of the fashions and definitely the big hair. LOL.)

It was a much simpler, innocent, easy-going time compared to now. Now seems so much more hard-core, sophisticated and adult. Even raucous. I miss the better-quality cartoons like The Gummy Bears, Strawberry Shortcake, the original He-Man and the Masters of the Universe and Transformers. Now, we have King of the Hill, The Simpsons and Sponge Bob Squarepants. Compared to the first group, you've got to admit the second is more adult, with its humor and content. I guess I'm saying I miss the innocence that was a part of the 80s, the lack of outright crudeness--though they had their share of double entendre, I know. But still, they were sweet, awesome and wholesome compared to today's adult sophistication.

Even my profile admits to my love of the 80s where music is concerned. I love Chicago, Mike and the Mechanics, Richard Marx... Many of my CDs in the Rock 'n' Roll category are Billboard's Top Ten from that decade. Plus, I have CDs of artists and compilations from that era: Cyndi Lauper, Madonna, Chicago, The Best of 80s Pop Love Songs.

My latest aquisition is the soundtrack to Napolean Dynamite. I don't recommend the movie, although it is funny in a dorky, stupid kind of way. It makes Idahoans look like hayeed rednecks (it took place in Preston, Id.) And it was set in the 80s, which gave its stupidness a quaint quality. But the music from it rocked; it had quite a number of hits from the 80s that I loved. These are two of them that strike a chord in me still:

The Promise
When you need a friend, don't look to a stranger,
You know in the end, I'll always be there.
But when you're in doubt, and when you're in danger,
Take a look all around, and I'll be there.

I'm sorry, but I'm just thinking of the right words to say.
(I promise...)
I know they don't sound the way I planned them to be.
(I promise...)
But if you'll wait around awhile, I'll make you fall for me,
(I promise...)
I promise you, I promise you I will.

When your day is through, and so is your temper,
You know what to do, I'm gonna always be there.
Sometimes if I shout, it's not what's intended.
These words just come out, with no gripe to bear.

I'm sorry, but I'm just thinking of the right words to say.
(I promise...)
I know they don't sound the way I planned them to be.
(I promise...)
But if you'll wait around awhile, I'll make you fall for me,
(I promise...)
I promise you, I promise you...

I'm sorry, but I'm just thinking of the right words to say.
(I promise...)
I know they don't sound the way I planned them to be.
(I promise...)
And if I had to walk the world, I'd make you fall for me,
(I promise...)
I promise you, I promise you I will.

I gotta tell you, I need to tell you, I gotta tell you...

I'm sorry, but I'm just thinking of the right words to say.
(I promise...)
I know they don't sound the way I planned them to be.
(I promise...)
But if you'll wait around awhile, I'll make you fall for me,
I promise you, I promise you...

I'm sorry, but I'm just thinking of the right words to say.
(I promise...)
I know they don't sound the way I planned them to be.
(I promise...)
And if I had to walk the world, I'd make you fall for me,
(I promise...)
I promise you, I promise you I will.

I will. I will. I will...

When In Rome

**********
Time After Time
Lying in my bed I hear the clock tick,
And think of you
Caught up in circles
Confusion is nothing new
Flashback--warm nights--
Almost left behind
Suitcases of memories,
Time after--

Sometimes you picture me--
I'm walking too far ahead
You're calling to me, I can't hear
What you've said--
Then you say--go slow--
I fall behind--
The second hand unwinds

If you're lost you can look--and you will find me
Time after time
If you fall I will catch you--I'll be waiting
Time after time

If you're lost you can look--and you will find me
Time after time
If you fall I will catch you--I'll be waiting
Time after time

After my picture fades and darkness has
Turned to gray
Watching through windows--you're wondering
If I'm OK
Secrets stolen from deep inside
The drum beats out of time--

If you're lost you can look--and you will find me
Time after time
If you fall I will catch you--I'll be waiting
Time after time

You said go slow--
I fall behind
The second hand unwinds--

If you're lost you can look--and you will find me
Time after time
If you fall I will catch you--I'll be waiting
Time after time

If you're lost you can look--and you will find me
Time after time
If you fall I will catch you--I'll be waiting
Time after time
Time after time
Time after time
Time after time
Time after time

Sparklemotion

May the 80s never be forgotten.

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE