Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
The Last Unicorns
09-16-2004 E 3:12 p.m.
I'm running away tomorrow. Perhaps it will be a good thing, perhaps I'll just be in the way of another busy weekend for Heather. One good thing, though, of staying at the apart. this weekend is I won't be able to have much access--if any--to chat messengers. With the exception of Heather, and the sometimes questionable or uncertain exception of another "friend" on nights, there really hasn't been anyone whom I've had a nice convo with lately. Any convos--except for Acid (which have been few as he's busy) and my "friend"--I've had with guys have been busts. Chris from Poky contacts me occasionally and says he's still interested, but his enthusiasm level is nill. I'm interested in another, and for a week I've boldly and flat out told him what I want, but he's either dense or plays dumb. *sigh* So...it'll be good to lay off and be away from chat messengers and guys who don't really seem thrilled having me around. Like they're even going to miss me. If only some higher caliber of guys would drift my way...
***********
Heather loves dragons; Kirk's favorite mythological beast is the dragon. And though I played a griffin in an RPG writing game I made up (now defunct), my favorite mythological beast is the unicorn. Surprise, surprise. Like I haven't stated that often enough. Anyways, on my fairy tale links page I found a link to mythogical beasts. And of course, a section was dedicated to unicorns. So, I'm posting a short story and quote I found. The story sort of fits my melancholy mood.

The Last Unicorns
The rain was still falling by the time he reached the little wooden shack that stood in the center of the green, fertile valley. He opened his cloak for an instant to knock at the door, not really expecting a reply.

But it opened, was pulled over the roughness of the rock floor by a great hairy hand. "Come in," a voice commanded him. "Hurry! Before this rain floods me out."

"Thank you," the traveler said, removing the soggy garment that had covered him and squeezing out some of the water, "It's good to find a dry place. I've come a long way."

"Not many people are about in this weather," the man told him, pulling at his beard with a quick, nervous gesture.

"I came looking for you."

"For me? What is your name?"

"You can call me Shem. I come from beyond the mountains."

The bearded man grunted. "I don't know the name. What do you seek?"

Shem sat down to rest himself on a pale stone seat. "I hear talk that you have two fine unicorns here, recently brought from Africa."

The man smiled proudly. "That is correct. The only such creatures in this part of the world. I intend to breed them and sell them to the farmers as beasts of burden."

"Oh?"

"They can do the work of strong horses and at the same time use their horn to defend themselves against attack."

"True," Shem agreed. "Very true. I...I don't suppose you'd want to part with them...?"

"Part with them! Are you mad, man? It cost me money to bring them all the way from Africa!"

"How much would you take for them?"

The bearded man rose from his seat. "No amount, ever! Come back in two years when I've bred some. Until then, be gone with you!"

"I must have them, sir."

"You must have nothing! Be gone from here now before I take a club to you!" And with those words he took a menacing step forward.

Shem retreated out the door, back into the rain, skipping lightly over a rushing stream of water from the higher ground. The door closed on him, and he was alone. But he looked out into the fields, where a small, barn-like structure stood glistening in the downpour.

They would be in there, he knew.

He made his way across the field, sometimes sinking to his ankles in puddles of muddy water. But finally he reached the outbuilding and went in through a worn, rotten door.

Yes, they were there... Two tall and handsome beasts, very much like horses, but with longer tails and with that gleaming, twisted horn shooting straight up from the center of their foreheads. Unicorns--one of the rarest of God's creatures.

He moved a bit closer, trying now to lure them out of the building without startling them. But there was a noise, and he turned suddenly to see the bearded man standing there, a long staff upraised in his hands.

"You try to steal them," he shouted, lunging forward.

The staff thudded against the wall, inches from Shem's head. "Listen, old man..."

"Die! Die, you robber!"

But Shem leaped to one side; around the bearded figure of wrath, and through the open doorway. Behind him, the unicorns gave a fearful snort and trampled the earthen floor with their hoofs.

Shem kept running, away from the shack, away from the man with the staff, away from the fertile valley. After several hours of plodding over the rain-swept hills, he came at last upon his father's village, and he went down among the houses to the place where the handful of people had gathered.

And he saw his father standing near the base of the great wooden vessel, and he went up to him sadly.

"Yes, my son?" the old man questioned, unrolling a long damp scroll of parchment.

"No unicorns, Father."

"No unicorns," Noah repeated sadly, scratching out the name on his list. "it is too bad. They were handsome beasts..."

~Author unknown~


"The people that see them share some of the unicorn's traits--they're lonely...with virtuous hearts."
~from Ally McBeal~

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE