Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Summer Love and The Friday Five: Achievements
05-30-2003 E 3:06 p.m.
(Submitted for P-O-Y on 06-26-04)
Beaches, parks and vacations. Ice cream, long sunny days, bugs and bicycles. What are some of your favourite summertime memories?

It's really hot out there. Again, even though it's overcast. That's one problem with higher temperatures--the clouds trap the heat in close to the Earth, making it more humid than it normally would be if it were clear.

Summer is my season. I was born during it; I love the symbols or icons--beachballs, sandcastles, seashells, water, ice cream, Country Time lemonade... It's a time when things are lush and green and growing or bright with color. Flowers bloom and give off wonderful scents. There's this strip down Main Street by Subway that's shaded and lined by trees. I love going down that strip in the Spring and Summer because it smells heavenly. They're white lilacs.

Which is another reason I love Summer. We have a purple lilac bush bordering our property in the back. My best friend Bethy and I would pluck a cluster of them and just sniff their light airy scent and them in our hair or whatnot. I associate fond memories of summer with lilacs. I don't think I will ever tire of them or their scent.

Even though I love Summer, there are a few less than great attributes about it. Like this temperature inversion, for instance. Especially if you have no A/C or other cooling device (i.e. swamp cooler) handy. Another less desirable of Summer is heatstroke. If it's a really hot day, it can be so easy to get too much sun. And lastly, the heat saps your energy and your appetite, making it all too easy and tempting to loll around.

**********
The Friday Five is actually thought provoking this time. Yes! Hopefully they'll be just as good more often.

1) What do you most want to be remembered for?

For being a kind, compassionate and loving person, who was always there for her family and friends. Someone who overcame obstacles in her path yet remained cheerful and grateful for all the lessons she learned. To me, being fondly remembered for compassion and kind acts and overcoming obstacles means you were more of a success as a person, and that success is the most important and highest of any you could hope to achieve.

2) What quotation best fits your outlook on life?

"Life is eternal, and love is immortal. And death is only a horizon, and a horizon is nothing save the limit of our sight."
~Author unknown~

3) What single achievement are you most proud of in the past year?

My graduation from college, of course. There was a time not too long ago when I thought I'd never reach this point; though I was close it felt so far away. My dad would say I would be a career student all my life because for three semesters I believed each was my last and therefore I told people I was graduating. But I was misinformed.

Now, happily, it's a reality.

4) What about the past ten years?

My high school graduation, my graduation from Ricks and getting my endowments out in the SLC Temple. (Yes, I know that's three, but they did not say single achievement in this question.)

5) If you were asked to give a child a single piece of advice to guide them through life, what would you say?

*flips through quote book again* "You must have control of the authorship of your own destiny. The pen that writes your life story must be held in your own hand."
~Irene C. Kassorla~

Meaning: Your fate, with guidance from Heavenly Father, is in your hands. YOU have zee power to decide your outcome, what type of person you are or will be. And the great thing about it is we have so much potential and it will be interesting to see how each of us utilizes it. That is our destiny. It's up to you, and if you take firm hold of that pen and choose what type of person you'll be, then like Orion your story may be written in da stars.

Questions found at the Friday Five.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE